河流漂流 旅行

诺瓦公司真正提供全方位的河流体验。在我们的日常漂流之旅中享受完美的半日度假探险,或者在多日的露营/漂流探险中开始真正的阿拉斯加探险,飞越山顶和河谷,进入这些荒野白水经典的偏远河边位置的投放点。

诺瓦河漂流的季节是从6月1日至8月20日。

 

  •  NOVA是一个倡导者和管理人,以保持阿拉斯加野生地方的野生。在游览这些神奇的地方时,请遵循负责任的旅行和 "不留痕迹 "的道德规范。
  • NOVA旅游的运作不受大多数天气条件的影响,我们在阿拉斯加风雨无阻。
  • 阿拉斯加的水路和天气有时会很冷。请穿上合适的衣服,或带上一些保暖的化纤层和袜子,以保证你的旅行舒适。在寒冷的环境或潮湿的情况下,不建议使用棉质的衣服。
  • 本次旅行所需的所有标准河道装备由NOVA提供,包括pfd(个人漂浮装置)、一双水鞋、河道头盔和全干式潜水服。干式潜水服只是一个防水的外壳,没有保暖功能,请自备保暖舒适的衣服放在干式潜水服下面。一旦你穿上干式潜水服,就很难再有休息时间,请在出行前考虑好设施。
  • NOVA漂流团需要至少4个人进行旅行。少于4人的团体,可以在征得同意的情况下加入其他人,以建立一个团体。
  • 让它成为一个组合:增加一个白水漂流之旅,在你的两个旅行中每人可节省20美元这个冰川之旅与我们的 "狮子头 "漂流之旅位于阿拉斯加的同一地区,非常适合于同一天的组合。**折扣在旅行登记时适用,余款已付。
  • NOVA的河流漂流季节是6月1日至8月20日。
诺瓦河漂流之旅

All of NOVA’s daily rafting tours are only a few hours long, creating a perfect half-day get away adventure. All of our day rafting trips are offered twice daily and are within a two hour proximity of Anchorage with beautiful scenic highway drives along the way. Escape the crowds of Anchorage, Denali and the Kenai Peninsula with a more local rafting experience. Our river theaters are less developed and less focused on industrial tourism maintaining the natural Alaskan scenery, charm and local character. Get wild on the Class III, IV, and V whitewater of the Lionshead and Sixmile Creek canyons. We truly offer the full gamut of river experiences. The classic NOVA multi-day river trips of the Chickaloon, Talkeetna, and Matanuska are still offered every year. We have 5 day, 3 day, 2 day and single night options for multi-day camping / rafting trips. This is where you live, eat and sleep on the river and around the bonfire. The Chickaloon and Talkeetna rivers are amazing fly-out float-back format style trips. Involving small bush planes for access, this format means only using planes once instead of twice, thus creating more affordable trips saving you cost with less flights. These are our favorite multi-days with consistent whitewater, gorgeous scenery, and easy logistics. These three rivers are as good as a multi-day fly-out trip with whitewater can get. Embark on a true Alaskan adventure flying over mountain tops and up river valleys into the remote riverside location put-ins of these wilderness whitewater classics.

几十年来,NOVA在阿拉斯加开展了大量独特的野外多日河道旅行。从北极之门保护区和布鲁克斯山脉的偏远河流到巨大的弗兰格尔-圣埃利亚斯国家公园及其山地火山。其中一些甚至是诺瓦公司在20世纪70年代末和80年代的首次下降。大多数仍然是阿拉斯加野生水域中很少有人漂流的路段。阿拉斯加中南部是许多经典之处,有最多的道路和简易机场可供利用。随着该地区的地理环境,众多的山脉提供了雪和冰川水的径流,以及形成大河和白水所需的梯度。阿拉斯加有30条山脉,有12000多条河流,还有成千上万条溪流和小溪。根据美国地质调查局的地理资料,阿拉斯加有大约9728条正式命名的河流、小溪和溪流。这些水道中的许多都有利于用竹筏航行,而且许多还在外面等着我们去探索。

这里列出的是NOVA在阿拉斯加历来提供的一些野外多日游活动。
- 国王队、育空队、查利队、塔纳队、奇特纳队、克鲁蒂纳队、通斯纳队、古尔卡纳队、蒂安纳队、洛尔队、内尔奇纳队、塔兹利纳队、奇斯托奇纳队、穆尔查特纳队、奇拉卡德拉特纳队、肯尼科特队、尼齐纳队、快乐队、20英里队、肯奈队、科布克队。Resurrection, Atigian, Noatak, Kilick, Coville, Porcupine, Susitna, Chulitna, Chandalar, Lake Creek,并仍然提供我们当地最受欢迎的Matanuska, Sixmile, Chickaloon, Copper 和 Talkeetna。

水位

水位可以极大地改变或改变阿拉斯加的河流和小溪的特点和性质。自然自由流动的水道是不可预测的,与放水坝控制的水道相比,有不断变化的变量。较高的水位通常会导致难度、强度和风险的增加。新星公司已经实施了经营旅游的截止水位,作为这段备受尊重的水域的安全标准。水位也迫使旅游调整,如船的大小,设备的变化,每艘船的团体/负载大小,甚至取消。筏子中适当的重量和动力分配是成功航行的一个主要关键。导游被授权在旅行开始前根据对美国联邦调查局水位计的监测做出这些决定,甚至可能拒绝参与者参与活动。水位、天气和其他变量也会影响旅游的时间长度,如改变水流的体积和速度。我们的办公室工作人员会提前通知所有预订者任何可能危及或取消旅行的预测水位变化。如果发生取消和/或重新安排在另一个即将到来的日期的可运行水平,则全额退款。

固有的风险

河流旅行和户外活动存在固有的风险,每个人都必须接受和理解。多变的不平坦地形、尖锐的岩石、湿滑的岩石和多变的天气都是常见的。有些安全隐患会一直存在,而且是人类无法控制的,如水位和水土流失。河流和所有流动的水路都可能是危险和致命的。在这些环境和特征下的救援不仅是技术上的,而且是困难的,在某些情况下根本不可能。由于这些原因,安全标准已经到位,必须得到遵守。导游通过解释和识别一般船民和客人所不知道的危险来管理风险。许多人在平缓的河段旅行时,会有一种错误的安全感,因为平缓的河段具有友好的诱人性质。在三级、四级或五级河段上有激流的白水值得尊重。在没有专业向导的情况下,在河流、小溪或溪流上旅行的个人应该拥有适当的知识、经验和设备。

**所有参加我们所有旅游的人都必须遵守我们的准则、程序并签署一份豁免书。只有父母或法定监护人可以为未成年青年签名。我们不允许婴儿参加我们的旅游。我们不允许宠物参加我们的旅游。

河流安全

我们认真对待河流安全。几十年来,NOVA一直参与多个组织主办SWR(快速水救援)技术课程,并且是该州最初的SWR代表之一。这些救援证书课程每年举办一次,使阿拉斯加的划船社区和像我们这样的商业导游受益。在纪念日周末在奇卡隆农村地区举行。这个马塔努斯卡河上的冰川流教室在安克雷奇以北1.5小时的车程。许多私人船民和政府机构已经利用这些为期周末的课程,学习并更加熟悉移动的水和救援。在3天的时间里,实践性的水上场景和关于河流安全的最新课程的大量教学。阿拉斯加是一个船民的游乐场,我们是当地的倡导者,让人们拥有适当的培训,基本知识和经验,安全地享受水。多年来,NOVA一直是当地政府和周围社区的潜水/水手救援队的待命资源。如果你有兴趣在奇卡隆或本州其他地方报名参加SWR课程,我们可以为你指出正确的方向。目前的证书提供者是'救援公司'llc。请联系我们的总办公室,以了解整个阿拉斯加提供的课程的更多细节。

私人旅行

如果你有一个罕见的或不常见的河流之旅?NOVA也许能够帮助促进你的旅行。请与总办公室联系,讨论探险的细节和选择,请提前几个月咨询这样的探险。

|

狂热的评论

褒奖

我和几个亲戚在2019年8月初参加了这次漂流旅行,我们都玩得很开心。这次旅行是沿着一条美丽的水道,允许足够轻松的漂流,以享受自然美景,同时又有令人兴奋的急流作为点缀。干式防护服使旅行更加舒适,我们的导游(Scotty)在比较平静的时段提供了机智的幽默和娱乐。
如果你正在考虑这次漂流旅行,但还没有完全投入,我鼓励你 "扣动扳机",报名参加 -你不会失望的!这些人是100%安全的。这些人是100%的安全导向,将确保一个安全而刺激的旅程。带上防水摄像机,记录这次冒险。

Sam L | 旅行日期:2019年8月

我们和诺瓦一起漂流了6英里,并进行了冰川徒步旅行。 两次都很精彩。我们的漂流之旅有斯科蒂,他和所有的导游都非常有安全意识。他们为你准备了可能发生的各种情况,我们绝对喜欢我们的经历。对于我们的冰川徒步旅行,我们的导游是咖啡。同样,这是一次令人惊叹的经历。我们做的事情比我们想象的要多,包括从70英尺高的冰墙上往下跳!这非常有趣,Coffee让我们在冰川上走得更远。这真是太有趣了,Coffee让我们感到超级安全。Nova是一家了不起的公司,只有最好的导游。在阿拉斯加,我不会使用其他任何人。

Lauren M. | 旅行日期:2020年7月

这是我们第二次在阿拉斯加进行漂流。两次都提供了干式防护服,而且效果很好。这次旅行有三条船,每条船上有5名乘客和一名导游。其中两艘船在后面为导游使用了大桨,客人们按照指示偶尔划一下。第三艘船有一群年轻人,他们做了一次没有船桨的 "划船旅行",只用了普通的桨。这次旅行很有趣。不太粗糙。没有人从船上掉下来。它不像德纳利外的奈纳河那样风景优美,但也是一次不错的旅行。

Berry TN | 旅行日期:2019年8月
t

常问问题

我可以要求一个指南吗?

Yes, We recommend booking a private trip to do what you like, when you like.

旅行是否可以定制?

是的,我们建议预订一个私人旅行,在你喜欢的时候做你喜欢的事情。

 

下雨天我们去吗?

是的。我们风雨无阻,所以请根据当天的天气情况穿着合适的衣服。总有一些折衷的办法,在灰色的雨天,冰川有更多的蓝色可见,至于河水,好吧,你是穿得很湿的!

 

你需要有经验才能参加吗?

对于所有的白水漂流之旅。 强烈建议有漂流经验的人参加;你必须能够游泳,并且能够适应自救的前景。

对于六里溪, 在漂流之前,有一个有趣的、强制性的河中游泳,以帮助你在参加两峡谷或三峡谷六里溪漂流之前做好准备,并揭开河中游泳的神秘面纱。

你们是否提供团体旅行?

NOVA welcomes groups large or small! Group rafting can be the perfect activity for your corporate event or team building, bachelor/bachelorette or wedding party! NOVA offers many trip throughout the day or the evening, depending on client wishes.

它离安克雷奇有多远?

从安克雷奇向南或向北行驶约2小时,视行程而定。

六英里溪位于安克雷奇的南部

沿着苏厄德公路向南,向苏厄德前进。欣赏这条国家风景公路的风景,直到第57英里处和希望路的交叉口。这是一个有明确标志的路口,希望路只转为单行道。转入希望路,行驶约100码,转入右侧的第一个车道(公共休息区)。NOVA的工作人员和车辆将在那里等你。

从安克雷奇开车约1小时20分钟,从吉尔德伍德开车45分钟,从苏厄德开车60分钟,从索尔多纳开车90分钟。

所有其他诺瓦州的旅行都是在安科雷奇的东北方向

签到地点在我们的希克斯溪,格伦公路96英里处(GPS用户为38100西格伦公路)。走格伦公路(1号公路),从安克雷奇向北走;你将在格伦公路国家风景道上一路行驶到希克斯溪。离开安克雷奇大约1小时后,你将走立交桥到帕尔默,继续沿着格伦公路(1号公路)向东行驶,经过帕尔默,然后是萨顿和奇卡隆;经过奇卡隆76英里处的老NOVA办公室,再沿着格伦公路的96英里处的希克斯溪行驶20分钟。穿过希克斯溪大桥后,在Trailhead Rd.的左边注意NOVA的标志;向左走,沿着公路桥下的NOVA车道到主楼办理入住。从安克雷奇开车到希克斯溪应该需要大约1小时50分钟,从帕尔默开车需要50分钟。

每趟有多少人?

漂流的行程会因水流和参与者的大小和体重而有所不同,平均每条漂流艇有6人。

是否有交通工具?

不,离开安克雷奇没有公共交通,租车是你唯一的选择。

 

河流分类的含义是什么?

由美国白水协会创建,河流分类用罗马数字I到VI来反映技术难度和技能水平要求。为了更好地了解河流的分类,并决定它是否适合你,请查看下面的白水分类部分,或在具体行程的页面上了解更多。

什么时候去最好?

阿拉斯加整个夏天都有充足的阳光,所以这更多取决于你的行程。摄影师似乎更喜欢晚上的冰川徒步旅行,那里的低角度光线更有戏剧性。另外,在阿拉斯加的冰川河流(如狮头河)上,一天中的 "高水位 "是晚上7点,因为冰川河流实际上是在晚上达到顶峰的;非常适合6人或更多团体的聚会活动。

River Rafting Trips

NOVA truly offers the full gamut of river experiences. Enjoy the perfect half-day getaway adventure on one of our daily rafting tours, or embark on a true Alaskan adventure on a multi-day camping / rafting adventure flying over mountain tops and up river valleys into the remote riverside location put-ins of these wilderness whitewater classics.

NOVA’s River rafting season is from beginning of June to the end of August.

 

Find A Tour

Nova Alaska River Trips

Find the right trip for you! Filter by day trips or multi-day tours, and learn more details for any of our trips. If you have any questions or need help finding the right trip, feel free to contact us

  • NOVA is an advocate and steward for keeping wild places in Alaska wild. Please follow responsible travel and ‘leave no trace’ ethics when visiting these amazing places.
  • NOVA tours operate regardless of most weather conditions, we go rain or shine in Alaska.
  • Waterways and weather can sometimes be cold in Alaska. Please, dress appropriately or bring along some warm synthetic layers and socks for your tour comfort. Cotton layers are not preferred in cold environments or when wet.
  • All standard river gear required for this tour is provided by NOVA including a pfd (personal floatation device), pair of water shoes, river helmet, and full dry-suit. The dry-suit is only a waterproof shell with no warm insulation, please bring your own warm comfortable layers for underneath the dry-suit. Once you are in the dry-suit restroom breaks are difficult to accommodate, please consider facilities pre-trip.
  • NOVA rafting tours need a minimum of 4 people to conduct a trip. Groups of less than 4, may join others with consent to build a group.
  • Make it a COMBO: Add a whitewater rafting trip and save $20 per person on your second tour! This glacier tour is located in the same area of Alaska as our ‘Lionshead’ rafting tour, great for same day combos.
  • The NOVA River rafting season starts June 1st and is done by the end of August.
NOVA river rafting trips

All of NOVA’s daily rafting tours are only a few hours long, creating a perfect half-day get away adventure. All of our day rafting trips are offered twice daily and are within a two hour proximity of Anchorage with beautiful scenic highway drives along the way. Escape the crowds of Anchorage, Denali and the Kenai Peninsula with a more local rafting experience. Our river theaters are less developed and less focused on industrial tourism maintaining the natural Alaskan scenery, charm and local character. Get wild on the Class III, IV, and V whitewater of the Lionshead and Sixmile Creek canyons or relax and enjoy our easy mellow Class II float for families, kids and seniors. We truly offer the full gamut of river experiences. The classic NOVA multi-day river trips of the Chickaloon, Talkeetna, and Matanuska are still offered every year. We have 5 day, 3 day, 2 day and single night options for multi-day camping / rafting trips. This is where you live, eat and sleep on the river and around the bonfire. The Chickaloon and Talkeetna rivers are amazing fly-out float-back format style trips. Involving small bush planes for access, this format means only using planes once instead of twice, thus creating more affordable trips saving you cost with less flights. These are our favorite multi-days with consistent whitewater, gorgeous scenery, and easy logistics. These three rivers are as good as a multi-day fly-out trip with whitewater can get. Embark on a true Alaskan adventure flying over mountain tops and up river valleys into the remote riverside location put-ins of these wilderness whitewater classics.

Over the decades, NOVA has run a multitude of unique wilderness multi-day river trips in Alaska. From remote rivers in the Gates of the Arctic refuge and Brooks mountain range to the immense Wrangell St.Elias National Park and its mountain volcanoes. Some of which were even first descents by NOVA in the late 1970’s and 80’s. Most are still rarely rafted sections of wild Alaskan water. South central Alaska is home to many classics with the highest number of roads and airstrips to utilize. Along with the area’s geography with numerous mountain ranges providing snow and glacier water runoffs and gradients required to form great rivers and whitewater. Alaska has 30 mountain ranges with more than 12,000 rivers, and thousands more streams and creeks. According to the United States Geological Survey Geographic, Alaska has about 9,728 officially named rivers, creeks, and streams. Many of these waterways are conducive to navigating by raft and many are still out there waiting to be explored.

Listed here are some of the wilderness multi-day trips NOVA has historically offered in Alaska:
– Kings, Yukon, Charley, Tana, Chitna, Klutina, Tonsina, Gulkana, Tsiana, Lowe, Nelchina, Tazlina, Chistochina, Mulchatna, Chilakadratna, Kennicott, Nizina, Happy, 20 Mile, Kenai, Kobuk, Resurrection, Atigian, Noatak, Kilick, Coville, Porcupine, Susitna, Chulitna, Chandalar, Lake Creek and still offering our local favorites the Matanuska, Sixmile, Chickaloon, Copper and Talkeetna.

Water Levels

Water levels can dramatically change or alter the characteristics and nature of rivers and creeks in Alaska. Natural free flowing waterways are unpredictable and have ever evolving variables compared to dam release controlled waterways. Higher water levels usually results in an increase in difficulty, intensity and risk. Nova has implemented cut-off levels for operating tours as a safety standard for this highly respected section of water. Levels also force tour adjustments like boat sizes, equipment changes, group/load sizes in each boat, and even canceling. Proper weight and power distribution in the rafts is a major key to successful navigation. Guides are authorised to make these decisions based on monitoring usgs water level gauges prior to trips launch and may even deny participants from engaging in the activity. Water levels, weather and other variables can also affect the time duration of a tour like changing the volume and speed of the current. Our office staff will inform all reservations in advance about any forecasted water level changes that may jeopardise or cancel the tour. Full refunds are issued if cancellations occur and/or rescheduling for runnable levels on another upcoming date.

Inherent Risks

There are inherent risks associated with river travel and outdoor activities that everyone must accept and understand. Variable uneven terrain, sharp rocks, slippery rocks, and changing weather are common. Some safety hazards will always exist and are beyond human control such as water levels and erosion. Rivers and all moving waterways can be dangerous and deadly. Rescue in these environments and features is not only technical and difficult but in some cases not possible at all. Safety standards are in place for these reasons and must be followed. Guides manage risk by interpreting and recognizing hazards that average boaters and guests are unaware of. Many traveling on the mellow sections have a false sense of security because of the friendly inviting nature of the easy river. Whitewater with rapids on the Class system of III, IV or V sections deserve respect. Individuals traveling on rivers, creeks or streams without professional guides should possess the proper knowledge, experience, and equipment.

**All participants on all our tours must follow our guidelines, procedures and sign a waiver. Only parents or legal guardians may sign for youth minors. We do not allow infants on our tours. We do not allow pets on our tours.

You may preview or sign our waiver document, by clicking here.

River Safety

We take river safety seriously. NOVA has been involved with multiple organizations hosting SWR (Swift Water Rescue) technician courses for decades and was one of the original SWR representatives in the state. These rescue certificate courses are hosted annually to benefit the boating community of Alaska and commercial guides like ours. Held during memorial day weekend in the rural area of Chickaloon. This classroom of glacial currents on the Matanuska river is a 1.5 hour drive north of Anchorage. Many private boaters and government agencies have taken advantage of these weekend-long courses to learn and become more familiar with moving water and rescue. Hands-on water scenarios and heavy instruction of the latest curriculum on river safety for 3 days. Alaska is a boaters playground and we are local advocates for people having the proper training, basic knowledge and experience to safely enjoy the water. NOVA has been an on-call resource for local authorities and dive/swr rescue teams in the surrounding communities for years. If you are interested in signing up for a SWR course in Chickaloon or elsewhere in the state, we can point you in the right direction. The current certificate provider is ‘The Rescue Company’ llc. Contact our main office for more details about courses offered across Alaska.

Private Trips

If you have a rare or uncommon river trip in mind? NOVA may be able to help facilitate your trip. Please contact the main office to discuss expedition details and options, please inquire months in advance for such an adventure.

|

Rave Reviews

Testimonials

I, and several relatives, went on this rafting trip early August 2019 and we all had a blast. The trip was down a beautiful waterway that allowed enough relaxed rafting to enjoy the natural beauty, while being punctuated by exciting rapids. The dry suits made for a comfortable trip and our guide (Scotty) provided quick-witted humor and entertainment during the calmer stretches.
If you are considering this rafting trip, but have not fully committed, I encourage you to “pull the trigger” and sign up – you will not be disappointed! These folks are 100% safety oriented and will ensure a safe yet exciting trip. Take along a waterproof action cam to record the adventure.

Sam L  | Trip date: August 2019

We rafted the 6 mile with nova and did the glacier trek. Both were phenomenal. We had Scotty for our rafting trip and he, as well as all of the guides, were very safety conscious. They prepared you for every situation that could happen and we absolutely loved our experience. For our glacier trek, our guide was Coffee. Again, an amazing experience. We did more than we thought we would, including repelling down a 70 foot ice wall! It was so much fun and Coffee made us feel super safe. Nova is an amazing company with only the best guides. I wouldn’t use anyone else in Alaska!

Lauren M.  | Trip date: July 2020

This was our 2nd time rafting in Alaska. Both times dry suits were provided and worked well. Three boats went on the trip with 5 patrons and one guide in each. Two of the boats utilized big oars in the back for the guide and the guests paddled occasionally as instructed. The 3rd boat had a group of young men and they did a “paddle trip” without the oars and using just regular paddles. The trip was fun. Not too rough. No one fell out of the boat. It wasn’t as scenic as the Nenana River outside Denali, but a good trip.

Berry TN  | Trip date: August 2019
t

frequently asked questions

Please contact us if you have any additional questions not answered here. 

CAN I REQUEST A GUIDE?

Yes. If your personal favorite is available, we can certainly accommodate you and our guides do love to be requested.

CAN TRIPS BE CUSTOMIZED?

Yes, we recommend booking a private trip to do what you like, when you like.

 

DO WE GO IF IT'S RAINING?

Yes. We go rain or shine, so please dress appropriately for the weather of the day. There are always tradeoffs, the Glacier has more blue color visible on grey rainy days and as for the river, well you are dressed to get wet!

 

DO YOU NEED EXPERIENCE TO PARTICIPATE?

No experience needed; we do take lots of first-timers out on our Glacier Adventures, Scenic Family Float or LionHead Whitewater Rafting. For Six Mile Creek, prior rafting experience is highly recommended; you must be able to swim and comfortable with the prospect of self-rescue. There is a fun, mandatory, in-river swim to help you prepare for and demystify river swimming prior to rafting on either the 2-canyon or 3-canyon Six Mile Creek trips.

 

DO YOU OFFER GROUP TRIPS?

NOVA welcomes groups large or small! Group rafting can be the perfect activity for your corporate event or team building, bachelor/bachelorette or wedding party or just you and your BFF’s! NOVA offers many trip throughout the day or the evening, depending on client wishes. We are happy to create a custom raft adventure for your group, and offer a 10 percent discount for groups of 10 or more.

HOW FAR IS IT FROM ANCHORAGE?

Between 1 ½ – 2 hour drive either South or North of Anchorage, depending on trip. 

SIX MILE CREEK IS SOUTH OF ANCHORAGE:

Take the Seward Highway south towards Seward. Enjoy the views of this National Scenic Byway until mile maker 57 and the Hope Road intersection. It is a well-marked junction and the Hope Road only turns one-way.Turn onto the Hope Road, travel about 100 yards and turn into the first driveway (public rest area) on the right. The NOVA crew and vehicles will be there waiting for you.

The drive is about 1 hour 20 minutes from Anchorage, 45 minutes from Girdwood, 60 minutes from Seward, 90 minutes from Soldotna.

ALL OTHER NOVA TRIPS ARE NorthEast OF ANCHORAGE:

Check-in is at our Hicks Creek facility, mile 96 Glenn Highway (38100 West Glenn Hwy for GPS users).Take the Glenn Hwy (Hwy #1) and head north from Anchorage; you’ll be traveling on the Glenn Highway National Scenic Byway all the way to Hicks Creek. About 1 hour out Anchorage you will take the overpass to Palmer and continue on the Glenn Hwy (Hwy #1) east through Palmer then Sutton and Chickaloon; go past the old NOVA office at mile 76 in Chickaloon and drive 20 more minutes up the Hwy to Hicks Creek at mile 96 of the Glenn Hwy. Watch for the NOVA sign on left at Trailhead Rd. after crossing the Hicks Creek Bridge; take that left and follow the NOVA driveway underneath the highway bridge to the main building for check-in. The drive to Hicks Creek should take about 1 hour 50 minutes from Anchorage, 50 minutes from Palmer.

HOW MANY PEOPLE PER TRIP?

Raft trips can vary depending on water flow and size and weight of participants, with an average of 6 people per raft.

IS THERE TRANSPORTATION AVAILABLE?

NO, there is no public transportation out of Anchorage, a rental car is your only option.

 

WHAT DO THE RIVER CLASSIFICATIONS MEAN?

Created by the American Whitewater Association, the river classification reflects the technical difficulty and skill level required using roman numerals I to VI. To better understand the classification of rivers and decide whether it will be suitable for you, check out the Whitewater Classifications section below, or learn more on the specific trips pages.

WHEN IS THE BEST TIME TO GO?

There is plenty of Sunshine all Summer long in Alaska, so it depends more on your itinerary. Photographers seem to prefer the evening glacier hikes where the low angle of light is more dramatic. Also the ‘high-water’ of the day on Alaska’s glacier rivers like LionHead is the 7:00 PM run as glacier rivers actually crest at night; great for party runs for groups of 6 or more.